Flash Fiction Friday…. Art, for Fuck’s Sake…

“Don’t you understand performance art?” she asked as I photographed the couple fucking in the middle of a huge intersection. The guy’s rhythm synchronizing with the rattle and hum of traffic. No one paying any attention to them. They might as well have been invisible.

“I do, but I don’t see how this fits the bill,” I replied.

“We’re demonstrating the beauty of the human body and sex,” she said.

“Oh, so you’re trying to repeat the work of Lennon and Ono?” I asked remembering the honeymoon bed peace protest.

“No! That wasn’t art. It was a protest. Fucking in public is Art!” she tried to persuade me.

“Hey buddy, what’s your viewpoint in all of this?” I asked the guy.

“Uhhhh…uhhhh…uhhhh,” was all he said, eyes closed tight as he fucking the girl as faster.

“Leave him alone! He’s deep in artistic performance! Can’t you tell?” said the girl getting agitated.

“Oh, I thought he was getting ready to come. By the way, shouldn’t you be getting into this more if you’re performing?” I asked.

“Oh, I can multi-task,” she said.

I shook my head and walked away.

 

 

Flash Fiction Friday is brought to you by Panser! If you’d like to play, visit his blog and join in the fun. Today’s effort had to have 100-200 words and use the phrase rattle and hum.

I have to admit that this picture didn’t inspire a lot of sexy thoughts. It reminded me of some of the strange performing street art that I’ve seen. London and Madrid being really strange places at times. Then it hit me. She isn’t engaged with the whole sex act. It’s more like she’s just there so the guy can do his thing. It also amazed me that no one else in the picture was looking at them. Hence the reporter view of the story. (oh wow…. the day job sneaking into the fun stuff!!!)

10 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday…. Art, for Fuck’s Sake…

  1. The Panserbjorne says:

    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Do you know, until the last three paragraphs, I assumed the speaker was talking to a woman on the sidelines with a clipboard or something, taking notes, gesturing to the performers. Then I found out she WAS one of the performers. Another hilarious entry.

    Also nice to see that somebody else took the “performance art” path. I feel a bit more reassured now. 🙂

    Happy FFF!

    — PB

  2. advizor54 says:

    I like this as a critique of the egotism of “performance art” since most of it is rubbish. She thinks she’s making art, he’s glad to get to be getting some in public.

    Well done.

  3. Lexi says:

    I echo PB in that the switcheroo is a nice touch; I too thought she was talking to someone on the sidelines. The interview angle is one I really wish I’d thought of now, but I don’t know that I could have done it this much justice, so maybe it’s better I didn’t 😉

    • Wordwytch says:

      Thank you Lexi. As I said, one of my day jobs sort of flowed into this FFF. 🙂 Granted, I could just see my editor hyperventilating if I submitted it. Hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

