Flash Fiction Friday…. Proper Planning…

June swiped the curl of hair out of her face. They’d lost all but their undies in the strip Rummy game.

“How can you sit there and smoke?” she asked Betty.

“What the hell else can I do until they give us our clothes back?”

“Yeah, but the Ladies Church Social is due in twenty minutes,” wailed June.

“You should have thought of that before you bet the guys that there was anything worse than losing at cards,” said June.

“I didn’t think they’d take them!” said June. “Oh what was I thinking?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Bastards took our clothes and the money,” said Jane.

“Weren’t even good fucks,” said Edie in a curl of smoke.

“Thought French men were suppose to be good fucks,” said Jane.

“Yeah, now which one of us is gonna call the police?” asked Edie.

“You have more undies than me. You go,” said Jane.

“Me? You go. You wanted to fuck,” said Edie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I almost didn’t play this week. Life has been hectic to say the least and the Muse has been pouting… Got to write more regularly! So… I played with both word limits. Hope you like the results.

If you’d like to play, visit Panser’s blog on Monday and join in the fun. Our challenge was 69-99 words and the phrase curl of…noun.

22 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday…. Proper Planning…

  1. The Panserbjorne says:

    I’m inclined to agree with Faile; even if it sounds like pretty much a foregone conclusion, the story of how this happened would have been pretty cool to read. Then again, it wouldn’t have fit into the word count, I’m pretty sure. 🙂

    Thanks for joining us this week!

    — PB

  2. Lexi says:

    I can hear the drawl, although maybe that’s just my coloring of it. Maybe it was the Frenchmen making me think of New Orleans. Anyway, it’s a simple dialogue but elegant. And the Ladies’ Church Social made me giggle.

    • Wordwytch says:

      Thanks Lexi. The ladies church social thing stuck in my head from the very beginning. The difficult part was working in the rest. I also apologize that the spacing didn’t go right. Don’t know what was up with that, but I’ve fixed it so that it is easier to see the two different stories.

  3. Pocket says:

    I really like the polar opposites of the characters from the two different stories. The first one was funny to me, the second was like the beginning of a weird movie.

  4. advizor54 says:

    Like dreams where we show up naked to math class, the idea of 20 blue-haired church ladies walking in on these two naked beauties cracks me up. It’s a great read on a Saturday morning.

  5. TemptingSweets99 says:

    ROFLOL! I guess the Ladies Church Social will have something to talk about for years to come. Heh heh heh! I love the second story, too, especially the fact that they are arguing about who should call the police because of their state of dress. Too funny. 😉

    • Wordwytch says:

      Teeheehee…. I agree. You can just see it can’t you… all those stuffy old women walking in… As for the second one. Yeah. They are totally in a different zone and to me the argument was funny. I could see two women doing just that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

